exhibition stéphane lallemand

museum of modern and contempory art of strasbourg

february 3 > april 4 2004

Photogénies...

the thistledown
(images (in) negative)
I’ve heard a beautiful lady, a lady from the high society, not from my world, answering those who were discreetly hiding such images, undertaking herself to keep her modesty for herself : “Go on giving ; nothing is too strong to me”.[…]
Charles Baudelaire, “The modern public and photography”, Salon of 1859.
The description of the front side of the feminine chest and of its flanks that has just been made, would remain incomplete if a quite rare stroke of beauty called “necklace of Venus” wasn’t mentioned. It is the simple trace of a continuous bend with the form of an arch, very slightly pronounced by the skin, at first at the base of the neck, then, under the throat, tangential to the abdominal circle, and finally blending into the base of this circle in order to delimit the pubic area. […]
The binding of the chest with the lower limbs pronounces itself also with the help of the flexion’s bend of the belly with the thigh. Strongly accentuated at the joining of the limbs, this bend fades slowly by going up towards the flanks through the curve of the hips. In that way, it draws in a harmonious way the most sensually captivating part of the feminine body.
Marcel Barrière, “The feminine physique”, Albin Michel, 1929.


Infernals stones

thistledown

2002/2003

salt prints gold tonings 20x26 cm

mount on cardboard 40x50cm

stéphane lallemand
page about forbiden fruits...
page about landscapes
page about photogenics drawings
page about credits

exposition stéphane lallemand

musée d'art moderne et contemporain de strasbourg

3 février > 4 avril 2004

Photogénies...

Les chardons ardents
(images négatives)

" […] J'ai entendu une belle dame, une dame du beau monde, non pas du mien, répondre à ceux qui cachaient discrètement de pareilles images, se chargeant ainsi d'avoir la pudeur pour elle : Donnez toujours ; il n'y a rien de trop fort pour moi". […]
Charles Baudelaire, "Le public moderne et la photographie ", Salon de 1859
[…] La description qui vient d'être faite de la face antérieure du buste féminin et de ses flancs, serait incomplète s'il n'y était mentionné un trait de beauté assez rare auquel on a donné le nom de collier de Vénus. C'est la simple trace d'un pli continu en forme d'arc, très légèrement marqué par la peau, d'abord à la base du cou, puis, au-dessous de la gorge, tangent au cercle abdominal, et enfin se confondant avec la base de ce cercle pour délimiter la région pubienne. […]
La liaison du buste avec les membres inférieurs se marque d'autre part, au moyen du pli de flexion du ventre avec la cuisse. Ce pli, fortement accusé à la jonction des membres, s'efface peu à peu en remontant vers les flancs par la courbe des hanches. Il dessine ainsi harmonieusement la partie la plus sensuellement captivante du corps féminin. […]
Marcel Barrière, "La plastique féminine ", Albin Michel , 1929


les pierres infernales

chardons ardents

2002/2003

papier salé viré à l'or 20x26 cm marouflé sur carton 40x50cm

stéphane lallemand
aller à la page des fruits défendus
aller à la page des paysages...
aller à la page des dessins photogéniques
aller à la page des crédits